AMLO is the new president of Mexico

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times
Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

lopezDuring the first hours of Monday, the Preliminary Electoral Results Program results show Andrés Manuel López Obrador is the new president of Mexico.

With more than a 30-point advantage over his nearest rival, López Obrador celebrated late Sunday night in Mexico City, giving a speech and accepting congratulatory messages from other countries. The first two to send messages were Argentina and Bolivia, who congratulated López Obrador on his victory.

On Monday, US president Donald Trump and Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau also sent messages of support to Mexico’s soon-to-be 58th president.

Although counting continues, López Obrador was ahead in the polls by more than 30 points with PAN’s Ricardo Anaya from the Por México al Frente coalition coming in a distant second with 22 percent of votes.

The PRI party ranked third with only 15 percent of votes with independent candidate Jaime Rodríguez Calderón scoring only 5.59 percent of voter interest.

As of first thing Monday morning, the Preliminary Electoral Results Program of the National Electoral Institute maintains the wide spread between the winning candidate Andrés Manuel López Obrador, who so far has 53.68% percent of the votes counted, and his rivals.

With a citizen participation of 62.9 percent, the results of are in line with the trends shown in pre-election surveys and even exceed expectations as the distance between the winner and his rivals became more than anticipated.

In the Legislative Branch, 42.96 percent voted to elect deputies from the Juntos Haremos Historia coalition, while the Por México al Frente coalition, made up of the PAN, PRD and Movimiento Ciudadano, has 25.68 percent of the votes thus far.

The All for Mexico alliance, which includes the PRI, Nueva Alianza and the Green Party, has come up with only 10.83 percent of the votes counted.

In the election for the Chamber of Senators, Morena has 42.96 percent of the votes, while the Front registers 25.67 percent and Todos por México captured 11.24 percent.

López Obrador will take office December 1.

Source: Mexico News Today